Desire

Standard

Last week I interrupted much of my daily routine to enjoy my favorite past time..reading. I was reading this book by Chuck Klosterman called Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs. Its funny read things and then gain incredible insight about from where a friend’s personal philosophy or distaste for a particular pop icon orginates. Nothing is truly original. Its just that sometimes, others are able to articulate our perception on a miniscule part of reality. The first chapter of this book is much akin to my undresatnding of how soap operas and movies have warped my understanding of how I should shape my life (avoid all dram, unlike in a soap opera, but hope for the type of overwhelming true love that moves mountains…bleh). So, here is Chuck Klosterman’s articulation of my perception of a miniscule part of reality.

“No woman will ever satisfy me. I know that now, and I would never try to deny it. But this is actually okay, because I will never satisfy a woman, either.
…
but here’s the thing: I do believe that. It’s the truth now, and it will be in the future. And while I’m not exactly happy about that truth, it doesn’t make me sad, either. I know it’s not my fault.
It’s no one’s fault, really. Or maybe it’s everyone’s fault. It should be everyone’s fault, because it’s everyone’s problem. Well, okay…not everyone . Not boring people, and not the profoundly retarded. But whenever I meet dynamic, nonretarded Americans, I notice that they all seem to share a single unifying characteristic: the inability to experience the kind of mind-blowing, transcendent romantic relationship they perceive to be a normal part of living.”

…

He goes on to blame this on John Cusack, and the characters that women believe John Cusack to be. I wouldn’t go that far. I’ve only ever seen like two John Cusack movies–one in which he was a rather pathetic dude trying to reconnect with past girlfriends in order to reconnect with his most recent ex-girlfriend (High Fidelity) or a well intentioned cop turned limo driver that is really just a figment in the imagination of a psychopath (Identity). Not exactly romantic. I just thought this was interesting.

4 responses »

  1. In a book by Ori Hofmekler, he talks about “Romantic Instinct”, and gives his definition of what Romanticism is: “…The romantic instinct is a primal instinct that identifies a person’s uniqueness, makes him question rules, and fight to keep his integrity intact.
    …,The core of romanticism is the concept of breaking an established rule in order to build a new one. And a romantic act is the action of doing just that.”

    The man and woman of different socio economic backgrounds, or different ethnicities falling in love and staying together is romantic, because they’re breaking spoken and unspoken rules about who they should be with, and making a new rule in the process.

    Ori Hofmekler also states that there’s false romanticism. A good example he uses is Valentines day where every couple gets something for the other or goes out for dinner. This isn’t romance, it’s the following of a tradition.

    Personally I totally see why I can agree when you say it’s everyone’s fault. When it comes to Romantic Instinct, we’d rather pacify and hide it under the excuse of being civilized. We’d rather believe in false romanticism found in a John Cusack movie instead of breaking or at least questioning outdated rules and follow our romantic instinct, which has left us the inability to feel a “mind-blowing, transcendent romantic relationship.”

    Oops, didn’t mean to write a whole post. Have a nice day. 😉

  2. Look at how smart and functioning Walter is at 6:58 in the morning. You know what I did at 6:58 am this morning? Called my school to tell them that I would be late because I’d locked my self out of my apartment with the car keys on the other side of a locked door.

  3. Actually I’m on central time, so 658 your time was really 858 my time. At 658 my time, I was getting ready to drive my daughter to school since I didn’t lock myself out. ;P

Leave a Reply

