The 100

Standard

So I’ve decided that personal reading trumps actually preparing for my job. I know, I know, I should get back to work. The more prepared I am, the easier it will be. What the fuck ever. I want to do some more reading, and I look forward to it, so there! Anyway, I googled “100 books to read” to find that notorious book list of 100 of the best novels to read. As an educator, I am immediately interested in the criteria to which the book is measured in order to make it to these lists, but I think its mostly amount of votes. Also, my opinion of the #1 titles is how I measure the validity ofthe list. One of the first websites that Google list is Random House’s Modern Library Top 100 books. This lists breaks down into two categories: Top 100 as chosen by The Board, and the Top 100 as chosen by the readers. And apparently the readers don’t know shit. #1 on the reader’s lists: Ayn Rand’s Atlas Shrugged, #2 Any Rand’s The Fountainhead, and #3 L. Ron Hubbard’s Battlefield Earth. Apparently the readers from the sampling of maintaing a strong philosophy of Objectivism (“the proper moral purpose of one’s life is the pursuit of one’s own happiness or ‘rational self-interest;’ that the only social system consistent with such a morality is pure, unregulated laissez-faire capitalism…” ) and Scientology (“Scientology is the study and handling of the spirit in relationship to itself, others and all of life. The religion comprises a body of knowledge extending from certain fundamental truths”). Yeah, it all sounds good on the surface…until you get to the part about aliens. Give it another 1000 years or two, then it will all just sound good…even the part about the aliens. (this is me trying to be fair and balanced). This is me completely writing off Random House’s list of the Top 100 because obviously their readers and myself have nothing in common. that and the fact that like every ayn rand and L. ron hubbard book ever written are in the top 20. Fair and balanced—this list is NOT.

One response »

  1. Thank you for the heads up on the Random House sell out bastages. It sounds like they’re either a subsidiary of Scientology or are owned by a Scientologist. If I spelled scientalagy wrong I’m doing it on purpose. I don’t expect that cult enough to even try and spell their name correctly. I also equate scient-anal-ology with tom cruise, the short stupid, white weirdo, who lacks manners. If you’re going to jump on Oprah’s couch remove your shoes MORON!

    Very nice post by the way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

