27

Standard

This really is the first night where I have felt strong enough to actually blog, let alone blog about my birthday. Turning 27 took an immediate emotional toll on my being. Several times at work I’ve just felt near tears. Not in that overtly emotional way, but I was listening to a parent voice her frustration (i.e. yell at her child) and the damn near exasperation of the moment nearly moved me to tears as I was transitioning in and out of a meetings after meetings, and from classroom to classroom, and as I figure out how I juggle this whole existence. Its been plaguing me all week. I had to take today off because a) the afore mentioned (one word or two?) and b)I had a abnormal psych test that I took tonight and for which I have spent the week preparing, on top of writing IEPs, grading, putting up student work, collaborating with teachers, juggling/running from administrators…whatever. So, I took today off, I called in and let them know that I was taking a day off, that denise had my lesson plans, and that i would not be in. I laid in bed until 9:30, at breakfast, took a much needed shower, then grabbed my abnormal psych notes/text and studied in bed, took a nap, woke up, went to the gym (which I haven’t been able to do at all this week because I’ve been super tired everyday) and jogged 3 miles on the elliptical machine and took a one hour yoga class. I think I got an “A” on my test. I better have.

So, here’s the birthday breakdown! I woke up at 8:30a.m. and cleaned my apartment. I did a load of laundry, I mopped my floor, I vacuumed, I washed my dishes, ate breakfast (grapefruit and soy milk), and got dressed! I thought that I was going to a really formal symphony, but then re-read this email and found that it was a symphony on the campus of Santa Monica High school, and changed accordingly. I had a thai food at Palms Thai in Hollywood with the most amazing group of friends: Karla and Erin J., Esther and Natalie, Nate, Angella, and Alex from Long Beach. It was really nice to see all of the most really important people in my LA experience were there. We gorged ourselves on delicious Asian foods, like fried tofu and pad thai (in three different ways: shrimp, chicken, and tofu), and then there was cake! CAKE!! I know, I know, I know, I shouldn’t have eaten the cake, but I had a slice and brought the rest to Denise’s because there was no way that cake was coming into my apartment- I would have eaten it! I feel like I don’t get enough time to really spend quality time with these people that I love, so I’m glad that they all came up for lunch.

I drove down to Denise’s house and hung out because me, her, and Elizabeth were headed to a symphony because we got free ticket from Green Dot. The New West symphony was amazing. I’ve never seen a symphony in my life. It was amazing to see the strings in action. There was so much movement, and action, and passion, and energy. AMAZING. Afterwards we headed to Harold and Belle’s in order to have a birthday dinner of fried chicken, jambalya, mashed potatoes, fries, and something else that might have been a salad. Between the four of us (me, Denise, Liz and the daughter) we shared that one meal… because all of that food was a intended to be a meal for one person! Isn’t it sad that the creole food in Los Angeles was much more delicious then the creole food found in New Orleans? Or at least in my experience. I’m just sayin.

In order of pictures: good fun at Palm’s Thai., The cake!,We’re bad at taking these types of pictures!, the symphony!, flowers from Alex. I think I’m in love with him.

I had a really nice time gorging myself. I got my tax return just in time. Because I had a tough week emotionally, I am going to be emailing some of you for some personal feedback. Just to help put things in perspective, and as a way to celebrate myself and where I am in this life right now. Growing up is exhausting.

One response »

  1. Chris has a similar birthday crisis- maybe it’s an Aries-thing? I always love my birthdays- maybe it’s a center of attention Leo-thing? I’m running a 5k on Sunday, but would love to see you and give you some birthday BBQ!!

Leave a Reply

