Donny

Standard

Two weeks ago…or maybe just last weekend…my friend Don came out from Seattle for pride weekend. he didn’t really come out for Pride or from Seattle. He had been in Atlanta for a symposium on HIV and had a layover in LA for a few days so we hooked up. It was really nice to see him. I haven’ t seen Don in 5 years. We talk ever so often on AIM. The nicest part was just being able to see each other and talk. it wasn’t weird. Its like we had picked up the conversation where we’d last left off. i think i have weird anxiety about this like that- I don’t know why. Here is a rundown of our weekend together.

Saturday

Met up with Don in Beverly Hills. He was staying with his friend who lived off Robertson and Olympic. I swear, I stepped out of the car and looked across the street at a woman sitting in her BMW. I said to myself, “nice, giselle” because the girl looked like Giselle. I looked over closer and thought, Huh, Giselle. I looked even closer and loudly thought, GISELLE! So, add that to my growing list of celebrity sightings: Giselle, driving a black BMW in BH.

I had planned to take him to El Cholo- a mexican restaurant that is famous in LA, which I honestly dislike because I got beets and carrots with my order one time- but it was a 45 minute wait, so instead of even heading in that direction I headed to the Grove. I enjoy the Grove. I enjoy taking people to The Grove. Its a beautiful mall, BEAUTIFUL. here’s my story and I’m sticking to this: Malls hold a weird place in my heart. They symbolize something, but I can’t really put my finger on it. Anyway, so when I was a kid my mother wouldn’t allow me to travel out of the suburbs to head to the really cool mall in the other suburb (tukwila). So, some could say that now that I am an adult I am just going wherever I want (take that Mom!) which apparently, is the mall. We walked around and ate dinner at Loteria in the Farmer’s Market for some real Mexican food (take that El Cholo!). There was a certainly a moment in customer service…several moments…where we had no idea what was going on. I ordered a chicken-cheese quesadilla on corn tortillas which arrived at me only cheese. When went to pay, they just kept looking at the cash like, “what’s going on…what is this?”

Don got to meet Steven and Joey when we went to their place in WEHO and walked to the festivities. Walking…not my favorite activity in dress boots, no matter how flat the boots are. I was amazingly dressed (as per usual) and was told that I was the accessory that many wanted to put on their wrists. We stayed out too late, drank too much, and I slept in WeHo. Don danced the night away with me and with his friend Ken.

Sunday

The next night I picked up Don and Denise to show him the mall at Hollywood and Highland (take that!). Insanity ensued. There was a man there dressed like a demon who was rubbing the backside of this large breasted white woman. They were having a lively conversation, and he was giving her a massage. In all of the pictures I got she looks like she’s trying to get away. This was not the fact in reality. In reality she was seriously enjoying this back rub. Don, Denise, and I enjoyed dinner at Roscoe’s Chicken and Waffles, which is an amazing LA institution. We decided that the next time he comes to town we’re doing a tour of the city by way of cupcake boutiques. Or something like that.

Leave a Reply

