Processed foods are ruining my life

Standard
soup needed

soup needed

I can still smell it.  And it smells disgusting. I have a huge aversion to strong smelling foods, so please excuse the hyperbole.  Tonight has been a bad night for food.  Just horrible.   It doesn’t help that most nights after work I am just not in the mood to eat, let alone cook.  Apart of me would be satisfied with a 100 calorie bag of Pop Secret Homestyle Popcorn.  The other part of me knows that if I start eating like that I am going to run myself into the ground.  But I would at least be satisfied.  I stayed at work until 6:15pm, then headed to the DT public library to pick up a book for class- which i will begin reading in 7 minutes- and didn’t get home until about an hour ago.  This is where the story goes down hill:  I thought it would be  a good idea to have trader joe’s black lentils and a morning star tomato, basil pizza veggie patty.  Oh, God…why did i do that. The lentils were horrible.  I thought they’d be like black beans, but instead tasted like little rocks.  And they had such a wierd taste.  I guess I should leave lentils to soups, which I love.  I put them in a tupperware container and I’ll try to find a recipe- for the weekend- to try to salvage this purchase.

As for the veggie patties, I can still smell the patty.  They add some flavor additive to make it smell and taste like a grilled burger.  On one hand this is good, but  on the other hand, I don’t live in the matrix.  I didn’t really want my veggie burger to taste like pizza.  I wanted it taste like tomato and basil.  After I failed miserably with the lentils I cracked two eggs and made eggs over easy to top my veggie patty.  That sounds good, right?  No.  Not at all.  The flavor additives are so strong that they don’t mingle with the nothing taste of two eggs.  Eggs taste like nothing…the most delicious nothing ever.  Most often anything you add to eggs makes them taste better.  This was not the case. And I can still smell the “burger”.  Gross. Even though I added fresh delicious goat cheese, I was grossed out when a string of melted parmesean appeared from the end of my fork. I guess that cements the pizza part.   I just don’t understand this review.

While I was washing my face I had this realization that veggie patties and tofu, as healthy as they sound/are, are just still processed food.  Looks like there is just one more processed food to cut out of my life.  As long as things keep going this way I may just have to reevaluate my  time and learn to cook. Argh.

One response »

  1. I started cooking all my own food about 12 months ago. Been the best eating period of my life. You know where everything comes from, how long its been there – just greater confidence in what you are ingesting.

Leave a Reply

