Sunday Night Cooking: Crab Bisque and Sweet Corn Spoon Bread

Standard
Sweet Corn Spoon Bread and Corn and Crab Bisque

Sweet Corn Spoon Bread and Corn and Crab Bisque

Sundays are a big night for cooking in our house.  Sean usually has something yummy in mind that almost always involves a roux and sometimes I join in with a dessert.  Mostly, I just let Sean handle the going ons in the kitchen because its really the only time he feels rested enough to cook.  Thank goodness for a four day weekend and some rest because tonight he made Corn and Crab Bisque.  He modified Emeril’s recipe at the Food Network by leaving out the tomato paste, shallots, milk, Worcechester sauce and green onions.  I don’t know if you’ve ever been in a kitchen when a roux is being made, but it smells like heaven.  I’m not exaggerating.      He always made the crab stock that the recipe called for by boiling crab shells and legs with assorted spices, much the same way you’d make chicken stock.

Sweet Corn Spoonbread and Corn Crab Bisque

Sweet and Soft corn bread

I made sweet corn spoon bread, a recipe that I got from the Smitten Kitchen.  If you haven’t read this blog yet, you should.  Deb is amazing!  I love that the Internet has connected me to a world of different cooks and cooking styles.  It doesn’t seem so daunting or overwhelming when you have someone virtually guiding you through it.

Just because the recipe sounds simple and delicious and i have my virtual guide, doesn’t mean that its always easy.  The recipe called for medium peaked whipped egg whites.  For some reason, I can never quite get stiff peaks.  I have no idea what I’m doing wrong.  I was whipping the eggs at room temperature.  I was using a metal whisk and my kitchen aid mixer.     oh!  Apparently, I  started beating the egg whites at too high a speed.   Thanks, Baking 911.  I love the Internet.  So, this mistake led to my sweet corn cornbread looking like regular old cornbread instead of the awesome puffy bread on the smitten kitchen site.  Le sigh.  Its still crazy fluffy and doesn’t taste incredibly dry like cornbread is wont to do.

The problem with making soup is storage.  Tonight we’re going to try to freeze portions in cupcake tin.  We’ve done this before with the chicken stock. We froze 1/2 cup servings in each cup cake tin in order to easily grab as much stock as we needed without having to defrost more then we need.  Its worked out tremendously well so we figure that we’ll try again with the bisque.  We only really eat 1 cup at a time, so I figure 6 half cup servings frozen will be perfect.  We’ll freeze them tonight and tomorrow I’ll use a little warm water to detach them from the tray and toss the frozen discs into a storage bag and return them to the freezer until we’re ready to eat them.  Super convenient.  I asked Santa for a 12 serving silicone muffin tray for this same reason.  I imagine that the silicone will be more flexible and respond in the same way as an ice cube tray when twisted to release its contents.  This would remove the water bath step of removing the solidified liquid from the tray.  Fingers crossed.

3 responses »

    • it was amazing! The bisque was at least. Each time I open the fridge I have to look at the corn bread and realize that I’m going to have to figure out a way to eat it. i guess there are worse problems in the world, right?

  1. Pingback: c'est la vie » Blog Archive » Our First Hannukkah: Apple Latkes, Gouda Vicente, Bisque and Chicken

Leave a Reply

