Fruit Tarte and Chicken Stir Fry

Standard

Aw, stir fry.   We used to have it a lot growing up and the most I can remember about it is that it was a salty mess.  Delicious, especially the second day when the vegetables reached their peak of sogginess.  That statement isn’t dripping with sarcasm, but its there a little.  I distinctly remember when I decided that I was not going to eat stir fried left overs ever again.  This coming from a kid who loved KFC.  Back in September Sean asked me to figure out away integrate broccoli into our meals in a way that would be appetizing so I  found a recipe for Chicken and Broccoli stir fry.  I chose the recipe with an ingredient list that required most of the things that I actually had around the house.  For this reason, its actually the first meal that I made where I did not resent having to go out and buy different spices and sauces. I don’t mind having Hoisin sauce and dark sesame oil around the house, especially since they are frequently used in other recipes as well.

I used the food network’s recipe as a base, and then made a bunch of heart healthy modifications. Here is the original ingredient list with my modifications.

  • 1 pound chicken breast (about 2 breasts), cubed chicken tenders are much easier to work with because they’re already sliced and only  need to be chopped.
  • 3 scallions, whites only, thinly sliced on an angle  (I sometimes leave this out, but if not, I use green onions instead and i use the whole thing- green and white!)
  • 2 (or more) cloves garlic, minced
  • 1-inch piece peeled fresh ginger, minced (I don’t usually keep fresh ginger- i don’t yet know how to prep it and Sean’s not a big fan- so I use 2 teaspoons of powdered ginger)
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 2 (1) tablespoons sugar
  • 1 tablespoon, plus 1 teaspoon cornstarch
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons salt (I only use 1 tsp.  There is enough salt in the Hoisin sauce and the soy sauce to compensate.)
  • 1 tablespoon dry sherry
  • 1 tablespoon dark sesame oil
  • About 1/3 cup water
  • 3 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 5 to 6 cups broccoli, trimmed sliced stalks and medium florets (keep the 2 cuts separate) (Doesn’t this seem like a lot?  I’m sure its not.  I don’t really measure this out, I just throw a crap load of broccoli and green beans and whatever vegetable I have sitting in the fridge, into the mix.)
  • 3/4 to 1 teaspoon red chili flakes, optional
  • 1 tablespoon hoisin sauce

I don’t know, maybe I might be missing something by not using the fully suggested amount of hoisin sauce or sugar, but I doubt it.  I think I’m only missing the salt and the sugar!  The first time I made this I made sure to read all of the comments beneath the recipe.  The advice from others is almost as valuable as the recipe its self.

I came home late and had it in me to make a fruit tart!  I know, I’m crazy.  I  wanted to do it before Thanksgiving, but I found myself eating all of the fresh strawberries and blackberries I purchased so I figured I better make that tart before I ate them all!  I was going to use the Smitten Kitchen Simplest Apple Tart recipe as a base, but I only ended up using the pastry dough recipe and winging the rest of it.  I prefer my fruit dishes on the tart side.  Not in a little delicate pastry dish, but I mean “leaning towards sour” tart.  I don’t like when fruit is overwhelmingly sweet, which is what turns me off to most apple pie recipes.  Just a few squeezes of lemon juice off sets the sugar just right!  My idea of a fruit tart is as such:

16oz of fresh or frozen fruit- I prefer mixed berries or peaches.

+ 1/4 cup of sugar and a couple squeezes from lemon

__________________________________________

awesome tart filling.

It may seem like a lot of fruit but its one of those little bags of frozen fruit from the grocery.  Putting it together works is a lot more similar to the galette recipe from Smitten Kitchen then the tart recipe.  I did not know that it was called a galette the first time I made this tart.  I was just trying to braid the crust in the way that I learned working at a pizza parlor in high school.  Basically, roll the dough flat to 1/8th of an inch thickness.  Transfer it to a pie plate (I used a recycled one from a Marie Callendar’s pie crust Sean had purchased).  Spread the fruit out in the middle as flat as possible.  Pinch the dough up around the fruit.  Bake at 400 degrees. ( Okay, wait, I’m not sure about 400 degrees any more.  When I bake it in my oven it works fine because I can put it on the middle rack and its a good distance away from the heat.  When I bake it at 400 in my toaster oven, the berries get a little crispy.  Not enough to keep me from eat it, but just enough to not be aesthetically pleasing.  So, you know, just be aware.)

Before and After Fruit Tarte

I don’t know that I’ll actually eat this one.  I’ll probably keep half and make Sean take the other half to work or something.  I have the lowest threshold for will power.

Leave a Reply

