Searching for tasty tasty

Standard

I had the weirdest craving for coffee and cookies. I have no idea where I have had the combination of cookies and coffee.  My memory serves that it was like a vanilla coffee with cream and soft chocolate chip-esque cookies.  Damn.  I don’t believe that I will be able to replicate this taste and the memory into real life.  Its so oddly sitting in the bottom of my stomach.

Chicken Sandwich with spinach salad

I made the most awesome dinner tonight.  So awesome and so simple.  Chicken breast cutlets seasoned in Santa Maria seasoning and cayenne pepper, pan cooked, and served on a hamburger bun.  I ate mine with mayo, spicy yellow mustard, and spinach along with a spinach salad.  Holy crizapp!  I wanted to have a second one so badly, but I didn’t because that would have just been greedy.

I had a soy milk peppermint hot chocolate which was the exact opposite of a taste explosion.   The soy milk and the hot chocolate create a marshmallow taste and the addition of the peppermint taste just made it worse.  After that major fail I made a chocolate banana bread.  That was way more of a taste sensation! 

Fresh baked Chocolate Banana Bread         

Fresh baked chocolate banana bread sliced.

Chocolate Banana Bread

  • 1 1/4th cup of all purpose flour, plus extra flour for dusting loaf pan
  • 1/4th cup cocoa powder
  • 3/4th cup sugar
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 6 tbsp unsalted butter melted yet chilled
  • 1/4th cup plain yogurt
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 3 very ripe bananas, mashed
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
  2. Lightly grease 9×5 inch loaf pans and coat the sides of the dusting pan with flour.  Make sure to dust the pan evenly and discard the extra flour in the loaf pan.
  3. In a medium bowl, use a wooden spoon to mix together the bananas,yogurt, butter, vanilla, and eggs. 
  4. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, salt, sugar, baking soda and cocoa.
  5. Fold the banana mixture into the flour mixture.  Fold until every thing is evenly blended.  It will be thick and chunky, depending on the consistency of the mashed bananas.
  6. Pour batter into prepared pans.
  7. Bake in preheated oven for 55 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into center of a loaf comes out clean.
  8. Allow loaf to cool before cutting and serving. 

Sean wanted to eat the whole thing.  I am surprised that I came home and it was still there!

Leave a Reply

