Sewing up a storm

Standard

I have been taking sewing lessons at the Sewing Arts Center in Santa Monica every friday since mid-November.  I finished my last class on Friday and walked away with a pretty rockin’ pair of purple pajama pants.  I only wish I had a picture to show you at the time of this posting.  Oh, I have sparked a sewing bug that is like eating its way through my every waking thoughts.  I am like obsessed.  I have to remind myself to remain balanced and focus on other things like yoga, ballet, and tech work.  I purchased a year long membership (it was more then half off) at the Urban Craft Center to be able to indulge in my sewing addiction whenever possible.  Full disclosure: I am seriously struggling with their machines.  The ones at the Sewing Arts Center are so money…I got a bit spoiled.  I’m not giving up on the urban craft center though.  I am going t ojust keep going and keep asking for help and we’ll see how it goes.  I purchased this book called One Yard Wonders as a way to practice things like binding and sewing straight.    I have also been all over the web looking for patterns and sewing ideas.   I found this really cool idea for a double oven mitt that I just finished today. 

My inventory:

Red Curtain for backdoor window

One Yard Wonders, page 36: Ruffled Cafe Curtain.  We have a window in our back door that needed to be covered.  I didn’t want to cause any damage to the door so followed the entire directions except for the rod casing.

Red and black double oven mitts

Smashed Peas and Carrots, December 6th, 2010: Double Oven Mitts

I am constantly having to take the dutch oven out of the oven or pour out the hot water from the large stock pot.  I loved this idea the first time I saw it! I got the fabric from Joann’s.  It  was in the remnants pile and was 50% off.  Its nylon, which is slippery and unravels in the worst ways.  Nylon….the bain of my sewing existence.  I was so determined to finish that I ignored my strong urge to stop and start all over again on fabric that was meant to act right.

That’s what I’ve done so far.  My  next big plans are to learn how to put on zippers (there is a class on Friday) so that I can make my dream gym bag. 

Oh, in case you were wondering, the colors in my kitchen are red and black. 

 

Leave a Reply

