Writing Challenge: 90 for 90

Standard

 

90

I have undertaken a new challenge.  It’s totally crazy but totally do able, unlike the NaNoWriMo challenge that was just way intense and totally counter to my head. Next year, next year.

Anyway, I am doing a challenge that I will call 90 for 90.  Starting next Monday, I will write for 90 minutes for 90 days. See, 90 for 90. Crazy, huh? I write everyday as it is, but I want to increase the quality of the time spent writing.  Also, I am committing to my current writing project for these 90 days.  This means that I will not change my topic or plot during these 90 days.  It sounds rather rigid, but I have to commit to my story and honestly, I’ve changed around my story so much that I have barely even written it.  Until last weekend, I only had a very vague idea of where I was going with it. This week I have a premise to which I will stick. I am definitely excited to see what I will have in 3 months.

This challenge starts on Monday so I need to do the following before then:

1.  Finish reading Outlining Your Novel.  This has seriously been the most helpful resource in book form that I’ve come across.  I’ve read Save the Cat, which is excellent with beats, but not with cultivating that story within you.

2. Plot out time to write for 90 minutes.  Today I woke up at 7am to see how adjusting to the world at this time would be helpful.  So far, I’ve only browsed the internet, eaten breakfast, shopped for Christmas gifts and read the LATimes.  Presumably this will free me up for writing time later. Honestly, I think I’ll try going to be earlier tonight (10ish instead of 12:30 like I did last night) and try waking up at 6.  If it took me 2 hours to into this really awake state (its five minutes til 9 am right now) then maybe I can be writing 8 am if I give myself a 6am wake up time.  Getting my writing done first thing in the morning will not only make sure that it gets done, but it will free up that time that I usually spend writing (from 10:30 until 11:45) for reading.

3.  Choose where I am going to write.  A 6am wake up time means that by 7:30 I can be dressed, head out to a coffee shop close to home (instead of one close to the Dear Husband (DH)’s work) and still be back in time (9:45 ish) to take him to work.    Akasha is a great coffee shop and the tables at the  Starbucks around the corner from Vons doesn’t seem to get too packed.  I think early  morning will make an excellent time for getting out.

It feels good to just write that list down.  I will definitely need more sleep.  My body is confused and wondering if I’m not out and about then why am I awake.

What about you:  Did you participate in NaNoWriMo or any other writing challenges?  How did it go?  Got any pointers for me to remember while I”m on my writing journey?

Image: ‘90

3 responses »

  1. This sounds like an awesome idea! Hmmm … maybe I will join you! Seriously. I don’t know that can do 90, but maybe 60 for 90 days. I am also in the process of outlining … well, I’m actually even procrastinating that part. I just bought “Outlining Your Novel.” It’s on my Kindle. I need to start reading it today and finish my outline. I wake up around 5-6 in the morning, but honestly, I can’t write until my husband and child leave at about 8. This gives me time to read blogs, comment, drink coffee, and warm up my brain. It takes a while, lol.

    • Yeah!! This will be fun to have someone else to do this challenge with! 90 minutes is insane, but I realized that I already go to Starbucks and am there for about 90 minutes so I could really actually do something instead of sit there and be “blah”. Hell, 10 minutes for 90 would result in awesomeness!! I can’t wait to read what you write!

Leave a Reply

