24 Hour Read-a-thon: Book 1

Standard

Reading and reading a lot is key to being a good writer (as well as writing, and writing A LOT).  Last night I went to a book reading by author Tayari Jones at Eso Won books in Lemiert Park and wow, am I inspired to  not only write, write what I want to write, but to read and to read a lot.  At the reading I met a woman from a book club, Mocha Girls Read, and another woman in Los Angeles who quit teaching and is writing. She’s writing freelance, which pays, and could be an awesome mentor.  When I joined the book club there was also a link for the Dewey’s Read-a-thon.  The read-a-thon is just reading for 24 hours straight.  I have to work and waking up at 5am is not really that productive for me so I’m starting some of those hours tonight.  I’m really not sure what I’m supposed to do other then read, so read I shall. To kick off my first read-a-thon I am reading Octavia Butler’s Parable of the sower.

 

Book cover Parable of the Sower

 Goodreads’s synopis: When unattended environmental and economic crises lead to social chaos, not even gated communities are safe. In a night of fire and death Lauren Olamina, a minister’s young daughter, loses her family and home and ventures out into the unprotected American landscape. But what begins as a flight for survival soon leads to something much more: a startling vision of human destiny… and the birth of a new faith.

As of 4pm on Friday after a few hours of reading, I really like the book.  I enjoy her use of simple language to build vivid detail.  This is not a quick read or an easy read but it is interesting.  I think I read for story as well as for language and structure . I want everything to influence what I am trying to do with my life: write full time.

4 responses »

  1. What a fantastic idea! I haven’t read “Parable of the Sower” but just finished teaching Butler’s “Dawn” in my class last week. We’ll have to compare notes…

  2. Pingback: 24 Hour Read-a-thon: Parable of the Sower « SC3

Leave a Reply

