Readathon 2013

Standard

Books and manuscript ready for Readation 2013

I haven’ t blogged in almost a year!  Goodness. How time and life have just kept going by.  I remembered last year’s Readathon and well, that got this thing up and running!  This isn’t just something one jumps into.  It requires preparation and gathering materials so that I can really dedicated 24 hours to reading and still go on with the rest of my life.  Here’s my plan:

  • 7 am wake up get ready (breakfast, hygiene, pushups, etc)
  • 8am OFFICIAL START TIME on west coast. READ!!
  • 10:40 Head to Volunteering (I’ve got an audiobook for the car ride to and from and will have to make up the hour I spend volunteering and not reading)
  • 12:30 Head to Gym- (because movement cannot just stop) – Where I will finish my audiobook.
  • 1:30 on READ! READ! EAT! READ! NAP? READ!

I’ve even picked out where I will read to keep things interesting:  poolside, at Starbucks, on the couch, on the bed, on the couch again, maybe even back to Starbucks.  Read-a-thon weekend also marks the first weekend of PlayStation 3 for the husband, so you know, I’ll have plenty of undisturbed time to read.

Here’s my book list:

  • Human Physiology Chapters 13 and 24 (to keep things interesting and productive)
  • NW by Zadie Smith
  • Paths to Recovery
  • Art of Character by David Corbett
  • Takes One to know one by Amanda Ronan (*MS)
  • Holiday in Death by JD Robb *audiobook
  • Redbreast by Jo Hensbo
  • Fairy Tales  from the Brother’s Grim by Philip Pulman (to keep things interesting and to switch things up)
  • Lady X’s Cowboy by Zoe Archer

Some of these I won’t be reading straight through, but they will get read and that’s what’s important.

Food:

  • Nut
  • Yogurt
  • Hansen’s Ginger Ale
  • Goat cheese pizza
  • fruit!
  • oatmeal
  • Chicken Taco stew

To finish preparing tonight I need to read for an hour to compensate for the hour I’ll lose tomorrow. I also need to log into twitter, charge the ipod and the kindle, save the Dewey Readathon page as a favorite and turn off the captcha for this blog so that folks can comment!

4 responses »

  1. Welcome back to the blogging world! I’m impressed with your dedication, to read for an extra hour to make up for the hour you will miss today due to volunteering. Enjoy your reading day!

Leave a Reply

